Mmm, Cookies.

I love cookies. All cookies. Except ones with raisins.

I had a mega big craving for chocolate chips cookies and in true adult fashion, I was much too lazy to go to the store and get some of the ready bake ones. PINTEREST TO THE RESCUE!

I scrolled through several recipes and found one that looked soooo good and simple. Simple is always good.

I found the recipe here: http://whenisdinner.com/homemade-chocolate-chip-cookies/

and I followed it exactly.

I started off getting everything together as one does… egg, flour, sugar.. .. Mmm. Cookies.

You’ll need:

 

  • ½ cup Sugar
  • ½ cup Brown Sugar, Packed
  • ⅓ cup Butter, I used Salted
  • ⅓ cup Shortening
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1½ cups Self Rising Flour (If using All Purpose, add ½ tsp Salt & ½ tsp Baking Soda)
  • 1 package your preferred brand of Chocolate Chips

 

I preheated the oven to 375, just as I was told and pulled out my cookies pans. I used parchment paper, but you don’t have to. Honestly, I didn’t wanna have a ton of clean up so parchment paper is a Godsend. Next, I put all the ingredients (except for flour and chocolate chips) in a bowl, and mixed them together with a hand mixer. I slowly added the flour, bit by bit, until it was all mixed really well. I poured in whatever chocolate chips I had, and as much as I wanted, and mixed until I felt they were evenly distributed. I also found that with this recipe, you don’t have to use room temperature butter, and you don’t have to cool the dough before baking. You can literally go from bowl, to pan, to oven. So easy, very little prep, very nice. The recipe calls for a bake time for 8-10 minutes, but I almost always make my cookies freakin’ huge. I need to invest in a good cookie scoop. Instead, I used a teaspoon, scooped up a good amount and rolled it into balls.  I spaced them apart to allow for spreading, and because I made them bigger, I put them in for 12-15 minutes. I ended up with cookies that were a soft in the middle, perfectly golden brown on the bottom and edges and the edges had a nice crunch. These cookies are so easy and so good, your family will definitely ask you to make more (mine did), and you won’t mind it!

 

I’ve made these cookies twice over the weekend. The second time, I went to get the cookies out of the oven and the pan slipped. I dropped a few cookies on the oven door and used a spatula to save them. Not pretty, but still good!

Leave a comment